top of page

"Is Olathe United's New All Star Defender the Missing Piece for a Championship Season?"

Updated: Mar 26

Olathe, KS - March 25, 2024 -Olathe United is excited to report the signing of Defensive Dynamo Simon Esh! The prominent Ottawa University Freshman is known to be a brick wall on the pitch and is sure to help lock down the backline!  As always we got the exclusive interview with this incredible athlete!

 

We asked about his experience playing as a center back in previous clubs, and what his system is coming in and adapting to different defensive systems and working with new teammates in a new club.


Simon Esh

Simon had this to say “I have played center back for 4 years, but I'm not limited to that, as I can play right back and the 6. As center back, I have captained my club and high school team which was an honor. I absolutely love the dirty work required from the backline and am more than willing to get my hands dirty. I think as a center back I have an easier time adapting to different teams, as the demands from a center back are typically the same for every team. As far as adapting to new teammates, I just learn their tendencies as quickly as I can.” Simon has wasted no time in those effects, from signed one day to on the pitch putting in the work his dedication is apparent!

 

When asked how he plans to organize and communicate with his fellow defender and keeper, he said” I do my best to make sure we are all on the same page. Typically I take charge and am constantly barking the whole match, which is something I enjoy” with a bit of a smile. Well what about when the the pressure is mounting and the teams suffered some set back? “In pressure situations I just keep a level head and stay calm and composed.  Composure is key. I treat every practice and game the same way and strive to play to the best of my ability.”

 

Spoken like a true professional, and with a track record to prove it. We wondered what his personal goal was for the season ahead both on and off the field and how he sees himself contributing to the clubs overall success “My ultimate goal is to win the league in its inaugural. Off the field, I hope to motivate my teammates and bring out the best versions of themselves. On the field, I hope to be an anchor in the back line and see us concede very few goals throughout the season.”  Which paired with other exciting news we have up our sleeve, we are certain that vision will come into reality!!!


 Before he had to go we had to ask what he personally thinks his greatest strengths were and how he plans to deploy them this season he confidently said “my ability to see the field and my positioning. I can very easily pick out a pass in the midfield or find the line-breaking pass up to the forwards. In terms of positioning, I read the game very well so I can anticipate what is going to happen to ensure I don't get caught out.”

 

Exciting, Exciting news for this up and coming Club! This instrumental signing and more as we boil down to the last days before season are sure to set Olathe United up for great success thought the Inaugural season of The Select League. Stay tuned and be sure to come check Simon and his teammates out as they make their push for the championship!!!

169 views0 comments
bottom of page