top of page
  • Brandon Fisher

19-Year-Old Left Winger James Newton Joins Lee's Summit Athletic for Inaugural Select League Season



James Newton

Lee's Summit Athletic, the newly formed team in the Select League, has announced the exciting addition of 19-year-old left winger James Newton to their roster. Born in Portland, Oregon, Newton brings a unique background and a passion for soccer that has been nurtured since his early childhood.


In an exclusive interview, Newton shared his enthusiasm about joining Lee's Summit Athletic and the factors that motivated his decision. "It feels amazing to join Lee’s Summit Athletic, and I'm really excited to play within the league! My motivation for joining the league derives from my love of soccer, which has been with me throughout my entire life," he expressed.


Having spent his formative years in Portland before moving to the Kansas City area at the age of 6, Newton reflects on the soccer culture in Portland and how it has influenced his playing style.

"One of the first things I was taught when playing soccer in Portland was that if you miss a shot, you need to get back up and try to score again," he shared, hinting at the resilience he brings to the field.

As a left winger, Newton highlights his strengths that he believes will enhance the team's attack. "Some things I hope to bring are my strong left leg and my love for running. I believe my powerful left leg will be beneficial for the team during matches," he said.


Newton's passion for soccer was shaped by a memorable experience attending his first MLS match with his father, and he draws inspiration from players like Graham Zusi, admiring not only their playing styles but also their dedication to the sport.


Off the field, fans might be surprised to learn about Newton's diverse interests, which include working on computers, programming, and learning new things. Despite being a young player in a new team, he maintains a positive mindset both on and off the field, emphasizing that,

"After all, it is just a game!"

Looking ahead to the upcoming season, Newton sets personal goals of maintaining a positive attitude and continuous improvement. "One of the goals I will always have for myself and for every team I play on is to maintain a positive attitude and mindset. Another goal I also have is to always be improving and to learn from my mistakes!"


Having lived in Lee's Summit for about a year, Newton is eager to contribute to the local soccer scene. And for a bit of fun, he revealed that his go-to pre-match song that pumps him up is "Redwoodz" by The Movement.


With James Newton's arrival, Lee's Summit Athletic adds a talented and enthusiastic player to their squad, bringing a fresh perspective and skill set to the team's inaugural season in the Select League.

49 views
bottom of page